West vs The Rest of the World

I want to preface this post by saying that I’ve been convicted many times of the stuff I am sharing.  It’s not meant to sound hoity-toity; just honest and I hope it will be taken as such.

I was waiting in line at the grocery store the other day and glanced at a magazine.  I didn’t have time to pick it up but the cover was of some celebrity and her quote “I just want to have fun”.  A little to the left was the headline “Eye Opening; Everything you Need to Know about Lash Extensions”.  I laughed a little at the sheer ridiculousness of it but it suddenly hit me that there are people that are actually interested in this stuff.  I mean, it wouldn’t be on the shelf if no one read it right?

I couldn’t help but wonder at the disparity between the West and most of the rest of the world and I felt sad.  Here, we pay money for magazines that tell us what the latest fashions are or how to attach fake lashes when 1 billion of the world’s children live in poverty.  That’s every second child in the world!

It actually boggles my mind that with all of our technological advances that there are still people in 2012 that starve…to death…every day.  I’ve heard people say “How could God let children starve to death” but make no mistake, there are enough resources in the world that no one should go hungry.  I don’t want to knock on any one industry but think of the millions of dollars it takes to make a movie, or launch a shuttle into space and did you know that in the U.S., approximately 10 billion a year is spent on cosmetic surgery?  For some eye-opening reading, google global spending priorities.

There are people on this planet that will never give a thought to the plight of their fellow human beings.  They will continue to buy their fashion magazines, their Starbucks and the latest smartphone and will be none the wiser.  And most won’t even do it intentionally.  Our lives are just so comfortable here in the West that it’s hard to imagine a life where hunger & disease are constant & inescapable.

Am I suggesting that you forgo your Nonfat Sugar-free Iced Caramel Macchiato or never go out to see a movie?  Absolutely not!  But if we’re spending $4 a day on coffee and giving nothing to those less fortunate?

And let’s not forget that the less fortunate are not just in Africa or Asia but they are right here; literally in our own backyards.  As we move into a season of conflicting consumerism and giving; remember your local church and local initiatives working towards the alleviation of poverty.  To whom much has been given, much is expected.

Leave a Reply

