A Thrill of Hope

I cannot tell you how much I love this time of year.  I am always chaffing at the bit to put up my Christmas things and begrudgingly wait til mid-November at the request of my husband who doesn’t exactly share my enjoyment of all things Christmas.

Of course this includes Christmas carols; my favourite since I was a young child being O Holy Night.  It’s my dad’s favourite too.

“A thrill of hope; the weary world rejoices”.

I love that line.  I get goose bumps every time I hear it.  Hope is funny thing; those who’ve never had to live without it often don’t realize the importance of it.

In Cambodia for instance, hope is a rare commodity.  95% of the population is buddhist with the main belief being that of karma.  In other words, whatever bad things are happening to you, whatever low position you find yourself in is because of how you lived in a past life.  I recently read an article about a young Cambodian girl who was assaulted by a man her mother knew but the mother decided not to press charges because of her belief that her daughter must have done something in another life to deserve the attack.  If that’s not a breeding ground for hopelessness, I don’t know what is.

I am eternally grateful to know Jesus; to know that I have a hope and a future and that He has a plan for my life.  What a privilege to carry that message to a people who live without that hope.  “Long lay the world in sin and error pining til HE appeared and the soul felt it’s worth”.

Leave a Reply

