The Remnant

Do you ever get that nagging feeling that you have to do something but you can’t remember what it is?  You don’t necessarily dwell on it but when you suddenly remember; your mind won’t rest until that “thing” gets done.

I had one of those moments this morning.  I don’t consider this a bad thing really; especially under the circumstances.  We’ve been unpacking the seven churches of Revelations as a church community for the past few weeks.  This morning’s theme was Sardis and in verse 4 it says “Yet you have a few people in Sardis who have not soiled their clothes”.  In other words, there are a few people who have stayed true to the teachings of Jesus.  Our pastor called attention to the fact that the scriptures say “a few people”.  A few isn’t very many.

I don’t want to be all doom and gloom (to steal Pastor D’s words) but the reality is while the message of abundant life is free and open to all, only a “few” will respond.  The Bible calls those that cling to the belief of Jesus and strive to live it out a Remnant.  Matthew 7:13-14 says “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”  Again, there’s that word, few.

This just kills me.  My soul weeps.  It’s so easy to love God; I just want to shake people!  A relationship with Him, it’s what we were created for!  Intended for!  It was this that led to that “thing” I suddenly remembered this morning.  You know, the Great Commission.  Sometimes, it just hits me like a ton of bricks.  The desperate nature of our mission; the urgency.  To save lost souls.  I know that sounds terribly, well, desperate, but I think sometimes Christians need some desperation in their lives.  I was so convicted sitting there this morning…when was the last time I invited someone to church?  When was the last time I told someone about Jesus?  When was the last time I wept on my knees for a friend who doesn’t know Christ?  I needed to remember that we’re not just hanging out here, waiting for Jesus to come back for us. We have been commissioned to add to the Remnant.

Coincidentally, it also says this in regards to the church in Sardis: “Remember, therefore, what you have received and heard”.  Life gets busy, especially at this time of year, but I hope I remember what I have heard and that it always stays at the forefront of my mind.

Leave a Reply

