Intentionality and Availability

I had the rare opportunity recently to drive to an appointment all by myself.  It was sheer bliss – no timbit toss, no ten thousand “mommies”, and no Chipmunks Christmas special (yes, we still listen to that in May).

The silence was wonderful but as I drove, my thoughts invariably turned to Cambodia and what our lives would be like there.  I always try to imagine a typical day but I doubt anything will really compare to actually living it out.  As I was thinking about what we would be doing on a daily basis, I started to feel God speaking to me….and it wasn’t about the glorious adventure that is overseas missions (I do say that somewhat tongue-in-cheek); it was about what I’m doing on a daily basis HERE.

I think for many Christians, it’s easy to get caught up in the day to day.  Life is so busy and sometimes, I’ll get to the end of a day and think “What did I do for Jesus today?”.  It motivates me to live my life with more intentionality & availability.  How you ask?  Well, it all comes down to people.  It’s not projects or charities, though those are great in their own right.  Instead, it’s connecting with the people that we cross paths with every day; co-workers, people you ride the bus with, the lady that serves you your coffee or the grocery store attendant.  It’s actually so simple and maybe that is why it gets overlooked sometimes.

The intentionality part is all about purposely engaging people and the availability part is not being too busy or distracted to recognize when someone needs more than a friendly hello.  The beauty of it is that you can live the life of intentionality and availability ANYWHERE.  I truly believe our mission field is wherever we are.

I’ve posted this song on our facebook page before; I like to listen to it often as it reminds me of what my purpose in life is whether I’m here in southwestern Ontario or in Phnom Penh.  It’s to care, to SEE people, to serve and to be His light to those who are hurting.

Leave a Reply

